MM-O-DD partners with MRQD to present Designers. 

Mighty Real/Queer Detroit art exhibition will open June 2022, coinciding with the traditional celebration of LGBTQ+ Pride, presenting a month-long reflection of the diversity of the community and its longtime allies. Honoring artists, past and present, from Detroit and its metropolitan area, whose works manifest distinct but intersecting backgrounds. Mighty Real/Queer Detroit will occur in multiple venues simultaneously, including two evenings of music, film, spoken word and performance work at the Detroit Institute of Arts. Galleries include: Collected Detroit, Galerie Camille, Hatch Art, M Contemporary Art, Norwest Gallery, and the Scarab Club.

The exhibition catalogue will feature the juried works of 100 plus artists as well as important essays by Dr. Tim Retzloff, Dream Hampton, Dennis Nawrocki, Eve Kurcharski, and the project's director, Patrick Burton.

The exhibition features over 100 artists, including: Austė, Boswell, Robbie Aaron, Patrick Adams, Paula Allen, Audrey Banks, Susan Bankston, Joan Jett Blakk, Tommye Blount, Miche Braden, Beth Brandt, John Briggs, Emmy Bright, Jeff Britting, Jan Brown, Shawntai Brown, Brain Buczak, Josie Bullard, Mark Burton, Patrick Burton, Brian Carpenter, Aki Choklat, Justin Coleman, Andrea Costantini, Ijania Cortez, Joe Culver, Robert Curtis, Christopher Cushman, Carl Demeulenaere, Julio Dominguez, Stephen Dueweke, Kaiden Dunn, Alexander Daniels Escobar, Karen Finley, S.J. Fleck, LeRoy Foster, Peter Gahan, Myles Gallagher, Timothy Gass, Neil Gates, Christopher Gene, Carl George, Bill Girard, John Glover, Javier Gonzalez, Brenda Goodman, Michael Gute, John Gutoskey, Ari Hampton, Eugene Harris, Jefre Harwoods, Arturo Herrera, Bryan Hoffman, Stephanie Holloway, Johnny Ray Huston, Richard Jerzy, Terri Jewell, Kalimah Johnson, Ray Johnson, Urban Jupena, Alvaro Jurado, Deborah Kingery, Brian Kovach, Paul Kubek, Marcus Leatherdale, Tom Livo, Jim Lucky, Ron Madalinski, Marcus Mannino, Nadine Marshall, Darrin Marzorati, Renee McCoy, Katy McNerney, Taylor Mead, Billy Miller, T. Miller, Levon Millross, Monica Molinaro, Jeremy Noonan, Scott Northrup, Diana Nucera, Kasper Ray O'Brien, Matthew Papa, Ron Parent, Maureen Petrucci, Jon Pickell, Kathyrose Pizzo, Ayla Raines, Lester Rambus, Nathan Rapport, Dave Roberts, Deborah Rockman, Joyce Sabit, Julie Sabit, Ackeem Salmon, Jeffrey Sarasson, Peggy Sauer, Tylonn Sawyer, DSSence Smith, Gregory Sobieraj, Peter Sparling, Karianne Spens-Hanna, James Stephens, Joe Sposita, Jon Strand, Jack O. Summers, Jarad Tacon-Heaslip, Jeremy Tacon-Heaslip, Darryl Terrell, Joyce Tinkham, Charzette Torrence, Gus Tsatsanis, Virgil Vogel, Patrick Webb, Warren Wells, Frederick Weston, Jack Whitehead, Julius Wilkerson, Levester Williams, Marcus White, and S. Kay Young.

MRQD curatorial team:

Patrick Burton, S. Kay Young, Peter Gahan, Geno Harris, Isabelle Lauerman

MRQD Advisory team: 

Jerome Patryjak, Kimberly Pinkice Jones, Adriel Thornton, Rudy Lauerman, Carl George


Metropolitan Museum Of Design Detroit (MM-O-DD) provides access to experiential educational enrichment opportunities

through collaborative programming and exhibitions.

Location: MM-O-DD is hosted by Collected Detroit Gallery at 2439 Fourth Street Detroit, Michigan | Administrative: 2900 E. Jefferson Street Detroit, Michigan  48207 U.S.A.

Copyright © 2018, All rights reserved. Metropolitan Museum of Design Detroit (MM-O-DD) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, EIN 46-4299785